Things to Check Out in Northern Germany

BRR, boy is it freezing here! Honestly, living here for a week has showed me how spoiled we are back home in California! Anyways, this weekend I ended up taking a trip to the territory of Eifel within the Northern German region! This being my first trip in Northern Germany, did not know how to dress and was freezing 99.9% of the weekend! (Side note: Gloves, Beanies, Scarves, HUGE Furry Jackets are your friend, and do not forget those thick pairs of leggings under your jeans!)

IMG_3005 IMG_3012

In Eifel there is a little village called Monreal and it is beautiful! It reminds me of a Hansel and Gretel tale! I was walking through the quaint and quiet streets and felt so at peace! Crossing little bridges with tiny creeks I felt like I was on some movie set! It just honestly felt so bizarre since we don’t come across such sights in America!

IMG_3003 IMG_3001 IMG_3008 IMG_3009 IMG_3010 IMG_3013

Nonetheless, while at my stay in Monreal I ended up staying the night in a winery. At the winery I tried three different types of famous German Weissweines (white wine) and had a type of Gluhweine (warmed up wine) that had melted sugar and a couple of shots of rum mixed with orange juice and herbs (mostly cinnamon). It was amazing and I could not get enough, shockingly I didn’t feel the alcohol one bit, all I felt was a cozy comforting feeling in my tummy!

IMG_3018 IMG_3019 IMG_3024

The Gluhweine was called “Feuerzangenbowle” and it was heated directly above a fire in a little pot with a huge cone of sugar over a strainer that would let the sugar slowly melt from the firing heat of the rum being constantly slowly poured onto the cone. The sugar would melt into the wine and once all the sugar was gone it was time for everyone to start to drink up! Zum Wohl!!

IMG_3026

Don’t be fooled, this ain’t no cup of coffee πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

