Healthy Eats: Acai Addiction

Being in Europe for so long  made me miss all that good “healthy” LA food that’s available at sidewalk cafes and mini smoothie/juice bars! One of the main things I noticed in central Europe was the lack of juices, pre-made fruit bowls, and most importantly acai bowls! Acai bowls have been my thing for a while but it absolutely killed me when I couldn’t find one anywhere in the hot humid climate of Hungary! When I got back I automatically went and got an Acai bowl from my favorite organic juice bar, Sunlife Organics. I literally indulged in it so much upon arriving that I had it almost every day! However, after switching it up and going to Juice Crafters and Nekter juice bar I wanted to make my own at home! Naturally, it’ll cost less and yield more per serving so it’s worth the try!

The recipe I tried I made by myself! No measurements needed just as much of whatever you like and want most of! I put a handful of chopped/frozen bananas, frozen acai berries, strawberries, and blueberries. I added a splash of coconut water and organic apple juice that I juiced myself then pureed the frozen fruits with the liquids! I didn’t add much liquids just enough for the acai mix to have a thick consistency! After, I topped it with fresh bananas, coconut flakes, hemp seeds, and a tad bit of granola that I bought from Whole Foods! Unfortunately I was in a rush so I didn’t have the opportunity to take a picture, but take my word for it because it was AMAZING!

 But if you are one that doesn’t count the kitchen as your forte, below I have included my top 3 fave bowls that you can find in West LA!

Enjoy! 🙂

Sunlife Organics:

Although the OG will always be Malibu, they have opened new locations in Calabassas and Thousand Oaks! Perfect for those in the valley! The Brazilian bowl with strawberries, acai, bananas, and blueberries is to die for!

Screen shot 2014-08-13 at 10.10.10 PM

Juice Crafters:

My second fave! I love their original Acai Bowl, it’s humongous and definitely very filling even for a lunch! Although I frequent the Brentwood location there’s also locations in Downtown LA & Newport! The I ❤ LA sticker on the Acai Bowl is also so adorbs and it constantly reminds you of the healthy lifestyle one needs to maintain in the city!

Screen shot 2014-08-13 at 10.17.55 PM Nekter Bar

This being the cheapest and most exotic due to it’s neon pink color is definitely something that will make you feel like your in tropical paradise! The pitaya bowl is so unique and it is combined with pineapple which definitely gives the taste of summer vacay! Also, they have locations all over California so you can find one close to you!

photo

Leave a Reply

